Royal Temple Yacht Club Limited

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 26 January 2020 @ 11.30 a.m.

The Commodore Andrew Beaumont-Hope welcomed all members who attended the Annual General Meeting of the Royal Temple Yacht Club Limited.

1 Apologies: Colin Grundon, Joanna Verrico, Richard Keen, Sue Cossell, Mike Wallis, David Ralls, Trevor and Irene Brook, Peter and Mel Pearson, Barry and Elizabeth Smith, John and Meg Chater, Keith and Sue Harding, Chris Denby, Hugh and Brenda Cripps, Kym Leatt, Heather Leatt, Sam Leatt, Sue and Tommy Foster, Roger and Davena Green, Jim and Martine Boorman, David and Carol Say, Joy Nassif, Pamela and David Bleazard, Val Oates, Gordon and June Warren, Paul and Norma Russell, Cliff and Jean Conron, Nick and Fiona Rawbone, Jonathan Hague, Jo Brand, Judy Pearson, Julie and Christopher Rook, Stephen King, Roy and Mary Fomison, Deborah Thomas, Mandy Grey John Nelson, Paul Woodward

2 To approve the Minutes of the previous Annual General Meeting held on Sunday 27 January 2019

The Minutes of the Meeting held on Sunday 27 January 2019 were agreed. Proposed by S Carter and Seconded by R Oates. Carried Unanimously

- 3 To consider matters arising therefrom. None
- 4 **The Commodore** introduced the Members who are standing for election as Officers and Committee.
- 5 To elect in accordance with Rule 5 the Officers of the Club, as enumerated in Rule 3, to serve for the coming year.

The following Officers were unopposed:

Commodore, David Parish; Vice Commodore: Martin Morgans; Rear Commodore Sail: Nicholas Rawbone; Rear Commodore Cruisers: Anne Peers; Honorary Treasurer, John Adkin; Honorary House Officer, Judy Pearson; Principal of the Navigation School, Simon Gasston

There are two contenders for the position of Honorary Secretary: Elizabeth Anderson and Stuart Carter

Following a vote by the membership: Elizabeth Anderson was elected as Honorary Secretary.

6 To elect in accordance with Rule 5 the Non-Executive Directors of the Club to serve for the coming year. (Articles of Association 14.3.3 refer)

The following were unopposed: John Barrett, Mike Brand and Frank Martin.

7 To elect in accordance with Rule 5 a General Committee to serve for the coming year.

The following were unopposed: Terry Adams, Nigel Collingwood, Karen Cox, Andrew Ketteringham, Rachel Morgans, Tom Smith

8 To receive reports from the Commodore, Vice Commodore, Rear Commodore Cruisers, Rear Commodore Sail, Honorary Secretary, Honorary House Officer, and Navigation School.

Questions were invited. None received.

9 To receive the Annual Report and Unaudited Financial Statements for the period 1 October 2018 to 30 September 2019 together with the report of the Honorary Treasurer and to approve the same

In addition to the written report, the Honorary Treasurer gave a verbal update on the accounts. The Honorary Treasurer requested the meeting to approve the Accounts. **Proposed by K Cox and Seconded by S Carter. Carried Unanimously.**

10 To appoint Dudley Gore & Co as the Club's Accountants.

The Honorary Treasurer requested the meeting to approve the appointment of Dudley Gore & Company as the Club's Accountants. Proposed by A Peers and Seconded by R Smith. Carried Unanimously.

11 Annual Membership Subscription 2020/2021: To devolve responsibility to the General Committee the determination of the Annual Membership Subscription for 2020/2021.

The Honorary Treasurer requested the meeting to devolve to the General Committee discretionary authority to raise the 2020/2021 membership subscription by an amount deemed by the Committee to be appropriate to secure the continued financial security of the Club, if such an increase is deemed necessary. **Proposed by P Jackson and Seconded by T Adams. Carried Unanimously**.

- 12 Membership Categories: To devolve responsibility to a Membership Committee, comprising Officers of the Club, the determination of the Club membership and fee categories for approval by the General Committee and those updated categories once agreed by the General Committee be put in place by 1 September 2020 for membership renewal 1 October 2020 onwards. Proposed by F Martin and Seconded by M Brand. Carried Unanimously.
- **13 Resolution**: The Company Members are requested to approve the amendment of rule "6.3 as follows "The General Committee may propose Life Members but must seek the approval of the Annual General Meeting". **Proposed by P Jackson and Seconded by R Oates. Carried Unanimously.**
- 14 Articles of Association Rule 8.5 Resolution: The Company members are requested to approve the disposal of the replica artillery gun carriage donated by C J Egerton in 1938. This replica has no relevance to the RTYC and such monies as shall be made will be placed in the roof fund. Proposed by S Carter and Seconded by M Morgans. Carried Unanimously.
- **15** Any Other Business allowed by the Chair. No written AoB received.

16 The Chairman to announce the result of the Votes for the position of Honorary Secretary after the meeting.

Andrew Beaumont-Hope advised the meeting that his time as Commodore had been a challenging but enjoyable one and extended his thanks to those who supported him during his period of tenure and thanked the members for their support and wished everyone well moving forward and hoped that the members will continue to support their Committee and the Club.

The Commodore also thanked Matt Green, who is standing down this year, for all his hard work as Rear Commodore Sail and wished him well for the future.

The Commodore welcomed new and old committee members and thanked the counting staff and Adjudicator, Tony Peers, for overseeing the counting of the votes.

Denys Tweddell then requested to speak: As the oldest past Commodore, thank you Commodore for all the hard work you have done and welcome to the great position of Past Commodore.

The Commodore then declared the meeting closed.

The meeting closed at: 11.46

EA26/01/2019